

NEWS RELEASE

Release Time IMMEDIATE

Date 14 August 2015

Number 16/15

CHANGES TO THE BHP BILLITON BOARD

BHP Billiton Chairman, Jac Nasser, today announced a number of changes to the BHP Billiton Board of Directors.

Anita Frew has been appointed to the BHP Billiton Board as an independent Non-executive Director, effective as of 15 September 2015.

Ms Frew has over 18 years' experience as a director and chairman on public company boards across a range of global sectors, including chemicals, engineering and finance. She is currently Chairman Designate of Croda International Plc, the speciality chemicals group and Deputy Chairman of Lloyds Banking Group Plc.

Mr Nasser said Ms Frew's appointment reflected the structured and rigorous approach taken by BHP Billiton to Board succession planning, having regard to the skills, experience and attributes required to effectively govern and manage risk within the business.

"Anita's depth of experience in strategic and risk management, marketing and governance across a broad range of sectors will enable her to make a significant contribution to the Board," he said.

Carlos Cordeiro, who has been a Non-executive Director of BHP Billiton since 2005, will retire from the Board at the conclusion of the BHP Billiton Limited Annual General Meeting in November 2015.

Mr Nasser thanked Mr Cordeiro for his valuable contribution to the Board and development of BHP Billiton during his 10 year tenure.

With the sad passing of Sir John Buchanan last month, Baroness Shriti Vadera has been appointed as the Senior Independent Director for BHP Billiton PIc and member of the Nomination and Governance Committee, effective immediately. Baroness Vadera has been a Non-executive Director of BHP Billiton since 2011.

Anita Frew

Ms Frew, 58, has served as the Deputy Chairman of Lloyds Banking Group Plc since 2014, having been appointed as a Non-executive Director in 2010. She is a member of the Audit Committee, the Risk Committee, the Remuneration Committee (which she will chair effective 1 October 2015) and the Nomination and Governance Committee, of Lloyds Banking Group Plc.

She is a Non-executive Director and Chairman Designate of Croda International Plc where she is also Chairman Designate of the Nominations Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Ms Frew was previously the Senior Independent Director of Aberdeen Asset Management Plc, where she served on the board from 2004 to 2014, and the Senior Independent Director of IMI Plc, where she served on the board from 2006 until May 2015.

Between 2000 and 2014, Ms Frew served on the board of Victrex Plc (including as Chairman from 2008), a UK-headquartered global business specialising in high performance polymer solutions for a diverse range of industries, including oil and gas, aerospace, automotive and electronics.

Prior to this she was a Non-executive Director of Northumbrian Water Limited, Executive Director at Abbott Mead Vickers Plc and a Director of Corporate Development at WPP Group Plc, and held various leadership roles at Scottish Provident and Royal Bank of Scotland Plc.

Ms Frew has a BA (Hons) from the University of Strathclyde, a Masters of Research from the University of London and an Honorary Doctorate of Science from the University of Cranfield for her contribution to the industrial and finance sectors.

Further information on BHP Billiton can be found at: <u>www.bhpbilliton.com</u>.

Media Relations

Australia

Emily Perry Tel: +61 3 9609 2800 Mobile: +61 477 325 803 email: <u>Emily.Perry@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Paul Hitchins Tel: + 61 3 9609 2592 Mobile: + 61 419 315 001 email: <u>Paul.Hitchins@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Eleanor Nichols Tel: +61 3 9609 2360 Mobile: +61 407 064 748 email: <u>Eleanor.Nichols@bhpbilliton.com</u>

United Kingdom and Americas

Ruban Yogarajah Tel: +44 20 7802 4033 Mobile: +44 7827 082 022 email: <u>Ruban.Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Jennifer White Tel: +44 20 7802 7462 Mobile: +44 7827 253 764 email: <u>Jennifer.White@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Investor Relations

Australia

Tara Dines Tel: +61 3 9609 2222 Mobile: +61 499 249 005 email: Tara.Dines@bhpbilliton.com

Andrew Gunn Tel: +61 3 9609 3575 Mobile: +61 402 087 354 email: <u>Andrew.Gunn@bhpbilliton.com</u>

United Kingdom and South Africa

Jonathan Price Tel: +44 20 7802 4131 Mobile: +44 7990 527 726 email: <u>Jonathan.H.Price@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Dean Simon Tel: +44 20 7802 7461 Mobile: +44 7717 511 193 email: <u>Dean.Simon@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Americas

James Agar Tel: +1 212 310 1421 Mobile: +1 347 882 3011 email: <u>James.Agar@bhpbilliton.com</u>

Joseph Suarez Tel: +1 212 310 1422 Mobile: +1 646 400 3803 email: <u>Joseph.Suarez@bhpbilliton.com</u>

BHP Billiton Limited ABN 49 004 028 077 Registered in Australia Registered Office: Level 16, 171 Collins Street Melbourne Victoria 3000 Australia Tel +61 1300 55 4757 Fax +61 3 9609 3015 BHP Billiton PIc Registration number 3196209 Registered in England and Wales Registered Office: Neathouse Place London SW1V 1LH United Kingdom Tel +44 20 7802 4000 Fax +44 20 7802 4111

Members of the BHP Billiton Group which is headquartered in Australia



Follow us on social media