sparkinfrastructure

Tuesday, 8 August 2017

The Manager Company Announcements Australian Stock Exchange Limited 20 Bridge Street SYDNEY NSW 2000

Dear Sir / Madam

#### Resignation of Dr Kerry Schott AO from the role of Chair of TransGrid

Please find attached an announcement in relation to the resignation of Ms Kerry Schott, AO, as Independent Chair of TransGrid and her appointment as a member of the Energy Security Board (ESB).

Relevant announcements from the Hon Josh Frydenberg, Minister for the Environment and Energy, and from TransGrid are also appended.

Yours faithfully,

Mario Falchoni General Manager Investor Relations and Corporate Affairs

Spark Infrastructure RE Limited ABN 36 114 940 984 as Responsible Entity of Spark Infrastructure Trust (ARSN 116 670 725) Level 25, 259 George Street Sydney NSW 2000 Australia T +61 2 9086 3600 F +61 2 9086 3666 www.sparkinfrastructure.com



# **ASX RELEASE**

Tuesday, 8 August 2017

### CHAIR OF TRANSGRID ANNOUNCES RESIGNATION AND APPOINTMENT TO NEW ROLE ON ENERGY SECURITY BOARD

Spark Infrastructure advises that Dr Kerry Schott, AO, has resigned from her position as Chair of TransGrid in order to accept a new role as one of two independent members of the Energy Security Board (ESB).

The ESB was recently created by the COAG Energy Council to coordinate the implementation of the recommendations of the Finkel Review into energy security. Establishment of the ESB was itself a recommendation of the Finkel Review.

"While I am naturally disappointed to lose Kerry as Chair of TransGrid, I recognise the importance of her new role which presents a valuable opportunity for her to apply her enormous skills and experience to the benefit of the entire National Electricity Market," said Mr Rick Francis, Managing Director of Spark Infrastructure and Deputy Chair of TransGrid.

"I would like to thank Kerry for her great contribution to the successful transition of TransGrid to private ownership and wish her all the very best in her new role on the Energy Security Board", he added.

Spark Infrastructure holds a 15% interest in the NSW electricity transmission businesses TransGrid.

Further Information:

Mario Falchoni General Manager Investor Relations & Corporate Affairs

Phone: 02 9086 3607 Mobile: 0418 401 415

# Media Release

### 08/08/2017

# TransGrid chair Dr Kerry Schott appointed to Energy Security Board

TransGrid Chief Executive Officer Paul Italiano today congratulated TransGrid chair Dr Kerry Schott on her appointment to Australia's newly created Energy Security Board.

"I extend my sincere congratulations to Dr Schott on her appointment, and I commend the COAG Energy Council on their selection," said Mr Italiano.

"Dr Schott will be an outstanding asset to the Australian energy market in her new role, and we wish her all the best.

"Dr Schott has seen TransGrid through an important phase of the company's growth, helping our transition to a leading private sector electricity transmission operator. Since her appointment as TransGrid chair on June 1, 2016 she has provided invaluable direction and leadership. I would also like to personally thank Dr Schott for her support and guidance over the past year."

Mr Italiano also recognised the appointment of Clare Savage, Executive Director Policy, Energy and Climate Change at the Business Council of Australia, and underscored the importance of the task facing the Board.

"The Energy Security Board will play a crucial role in driving the Australian energy sector to realise the vision of the Finkel Blueprint. We are at a pivotal moment in the industry's development, and it will be up to the Board to ensure Australians continue to have access to reliable, affordable energy in a market which is constantly evolving."

In light of her appointment Dr Schott will resign from her role as TransGrid chair.

"It has been a privilege to serve as TransGrid chair during an important phase of the company's development," said Dr Schott.

"TransGrid's unique vantage point in the energy industry has given me a keen appreciation of the issues facing Australia, and I look forward to helping drive the programs that will be necessary to secure Australia's energy future."

An announcement about Dr Schott's replacement as TransGrid chair will be made in due course.

#### About TransGrid

TransGrid operates the high voltage network in NSW and the ACT, connecting generators to distributors, major end users and more than three million homes.

Contact Mitch Hume Public Relations Specialist Phone (02) 9284 3631 Mobile 0428 822 959 Email Media.Contact@transgrid.com.au

180 Thomas Street, Sydney NSW 2000 Follow us:







## THE HON JOSH FRYDENBERG MP Minister for the Environment and Energy

# MEDIA RELEASE

8 August 2017

# SECURITY BOARD TO KEEP RELIABLE ENERGY SUPPLY

The Turnbull Government welcomes the appointment of Dr Kerry Schott and Clare Savage to the newly established Energy Security Board (ESB).

Established by the COAG Energy Council the ESB will coordinate the implementation of recommendations from the Finkel Review which were adopted by the Council last month.

The ESB is made up of an independent chair and deputy chair along with the heads of the Australian Energy Market Operator, Australian Energy Regulator and the Australian Energy Market Commission.

As the Prime Minister has made clear our priority is energy affordability and reliability as we meet our international targets.

That is why the Commonwealth as chair of the COAG Energy Council played a lead role to ensure the ESB was established as recommended by Australia's Chief Scientist.

In addition to coordinating the implementation of the Finkel Review the ESB will also deliver an annual Health of the National Electricity Market report to the COAG Energy Council that will track the performance of the system, the risks it faces, opportunities for improvement and affordability issues.

The Commonwealth looks forward to working with Dr Schott and Ms Savage who bring extensive experience in both the private and public sector to their new roles.

Ends